Openwork Eyelet Scarf

I finally finished a project!  It’s been forever! It’s a HUGE understatement to say that my life has been busy lately. But, it’s finally looking like things will settle down for a while.  We’re all moved in to our lovely but tiny apartment. It’s not my favorite place to live, but it is temporary until we buy our new house in the spring.  We’ve got it STUFFED with boxes!  The boxes are filled with things we are willing to live without while living in the apartment like: our office desks, my scrapbooking, stamping, and card making stuff, fancy kitchen things (our kitchen is half the size it used to be, and our old kitchen was on the small side!), and so on.   Remembering that we’ve moved from a 1200 square foot duplex with a basement and garage, it’s really a wonder that we manage to fit into an 800 square foot apartment with no garage!

Storage Closet!

This craziness is our storage closet. It’s for things we use all the time

Master Bedroon

Our bedroom – not too bad, but not totally awesome

Second Bedroom

The second bedroom, AKA the Storage Room. Notice the Tetris-style packing job (man I loved that game)

Now, on to the knitting!  I casted on this project a few days before the wedding.  I picked up three skeins of Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino in a fabulous steely green.  The pattern is Openwork Eyelet Scarf, available on Ravelry here.

It's so pretty!

It’s so pretty!

I highly recommend sharp needles for this one, they made the pattern much easier! I tried to work on this as much as possible, but it seemed like it was just taking forever to knit.  In my defense, I did get married, pack an entire house, move to a new city three hours away, and start a new job in the time it took me to knit this scarf, so maybe three months isn’t too bad!?

I just love this pattern.  It makes the yarn feel so yummy and squishy! I definitely considered keeping this and getting my friend something else.  Alex tried to steal it too!  In the end, I popped it in the mail for my friend.  Her birthday present is only three weeks late!

Close up of the stitching

Close up of the stitching

I sure hope she likes it!

I sure hope she likes it!

Leave a Reply

