My Boys

Alex and I have been trying for a baby for over a year now. Until there is a real baby, there’s the fur babies.

Link

I got Link as a baby.  He’s a Toy Manchester Terrier mixed with most likely a Chihuahua.  He’s nearing 10 years old.  He’s 8 pounds of muscle and attitude.  He likes to play like catch and tries to get us to throw anything for him.  He can and will play catch until he passes out from exhaustion.  He loves laying in “hot spots” where the sunlight is just right. He loves exploring and hiking.  He has even done a 16km hike pulling on his leash the whole time.  He goes pretty much wherever I go.  He sits with me while I knit, he sleeps in bed with us, he watches me pee. This dog has no boundaries.  He has all kinds of nicknames like boo, booboo, stinky, stink, and moe.  He loves his stuffies and the favourites end up as his babies.  He will carry around his baby everywhere and settles himself by chewing on it ever so gently.

DSC_6207

Link and his baby

Shadow is also known as big dog or dog dog.  He will be 11 in September.  He’s some kind of retriever mix.  Shadow is around 45 pounds, which isn’t really that big, but when compared to Link he’s a giant.  My mom and dad got him as a puppy in 2003.  Shadow came to live with me and Link in 2009 when I left my ex-husband and bought my own house. He was mostly for security reasons (he can have a bad temper and can’t go off leash for those reasons) as well as mom and dad were planning on moving into a house that would be too small for having him.  Shadow loves to be loved.  He always is up to have his head scratched.  He doesn’t seem to realize he’s not a small dog and willingly jumps into people’s laps if they show him love.  Shadow loves going for runs with me and loves hiking and swimming too. Shadow HATES birds though.  There’s a natural pond behind our house and the geese stay there for a bit in the spring and fall and the silly dog will jump as high as he can barking at them.  I don’t have the heart to tell him that he’ll never catch them that way.

Martin Mountain 088

A quick swim at the end of Mount Marten trail

Shadow and Link are thick as thieves.  They are essentially one dog.  If one leaves the house, the other one cries for his brother.  I used to take Link on drives with me, but now I can’t.  Shadow is impossibly car sick and nothing we have tried works for him.  He has a limit of about 90 minutes in the car and then he barfs spectacularly.  So now, the dogs are only in the car for essential travel only.

DSCN0076

Training for West Coast Trail

 

DSC_1095

Nice winter hike with Alex’s mom

Alex and I often talk about how amazing our dogs are.  They only really bark if there’s someone at the door…oh yeah…and if there are birds in the yard. They are mostly calm cool and collected.  They don’t get into things and can be trusted to be alone loose in the house while we are at work.

2 thoughts on “My Boys

  1. Hi Amanda,
    I’ve loved reading about your adventures and your boys are too cute. I love that they are partners in crime it seems. I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you & your blog for a Liebster Award. You can read more about it on my post: hardknitlife.wordpress.com/2014/05/23/liebster-award/
    Thanks for sharing your world 🙂
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

